Nominate your favourite e-application for World Championship!

What do Habbo Hotel, Wreck a Movie, Angry Birds, Need4Feed, Hammerkit Studio, Epooq and have in common?
They are all World Summit Award (WSA) winners. The call for nominations of Finnish world class e-Content in eight categories is open until September 9th. Producers can nominate their own products and anybody can promote their favourites.

The World Summit Award (WSA) is a biennial global activity to select and promote the world's best e-Content and most innovative ICT applications. It offers a worldwide platform for all who value the creative use of ICTs and who are committed to making today’s information society more inclusive.

WSA Finland is the competition to choose the Finnish nominees for WSA 2013. Anyone can nominate their favourites  by September 9th 2012. Producers are also welcome to nominate their best achievements. The WSA Finland Awards Ceremony will be at MindTrek Conference, October 5.
WSA Awards ceremony in Cairo: Julius Tuomisto ( in the
centre, just about to grab hold on his trophy.

WSA was initiated in 2003 in the framework of the United Nations' World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS) and is organised by a global partner network, coordinated by the International Centre for New Media. WSA partners come from governments, private sector and civil society in over 160 UN member states.

Finnish winners of WSA; Habbo Hotel by Sulake in 2003 and Wreck a Movie by Energia in 2009, both in the Entertainment category. In WSA 2011 Finnish producers were celebrated with three wins: HammerKit Studio (Category e-Business and Commerce), (e-Science and Technology) and Epooq (e-Inclusion and Participation).
Finnish winners of WSA Mobile in 2010 were Need4Feed in the m-Media & News category and Angry Birds in the m-Entertainment & Lifestyle category.

The nominations in each country are made by a National Expert. Cai Melakoski, Interactive Media Principal Lecturer at Tampere University of Applied Sciences (TAMK), is the Finnish expert making the selections together with the WSA Finland jury. WSA Finland is arranged by TAMK and MindTrek.

The Categories: 

  • e-Government & Institutions
  • e-Health & Environment
  • e-Learning & Education
  • e-Entertainment & Games
  • e-Culture & Heritage
  • e-Science & Technology
  • e-Business & Commerce
  • e-Inclusion & Participation

Send your nominations with the url and a short motivation to: wsa(at)

More information:
WSA home
Finnish WSA 2011 winners report
More WSA on this blog |||